Keeping Busy – Online Courses

During this time of pre-employment, it’s all too easy to fritter and waste the hours in an off-hand way.

But at least Pink Floyd understands me

Thanks to my friend Lisa, I’ve found a way use my time more productively. Lisa introduced me to a website called open2study. This website has a bunch of free online courses on a variety of topics. The courses take 4 weeks and involve watching videos/reading transcripts, multiple choice assessments and online forums.

Online learning is an interesting topic, and something I will probably blog more about in the future. For the moment, let’s just say that I wouldn’t just sign up for any online course, but this website has two things going for it:

  1. A personal recommendation from a friend and fellow teacher
  2. The fact that the material is created by actual lecturers and researchers from Australian universities

At first I signed up for three courses – Mobile Robotics, Concepts in Game Development and Writing for the Web. I then promptly dropped the last one, since a look at the first lesson showed me that the course was focussed on writing for businesses, whereas I am just one person picking up a hobby. As for the other two, I’ve made it through the first week and will hopefully see them through to the end.

In the future I want to talk about why I picked the courses I did, what I’m learning from them, the strengths and weaknesses of the open2study model, and how this learning could carry over to schools. In the meantime I will leave you with this, the most important lesson I have learnt from this course so far: robots are cool and I want one.

Wish you were here
Published by

missapproval

Future teacher, always a learner

Leave a Reply

